PLN Information

I have been described as a real life example of the application of transferable skills.  I started my life as a Librarian in Teachers Colleges which got me interested in education and training. I spent the fist 10 years in and around Higher Ed either supporting lecturers and students in becoming teachers and later as a lecturer myself.  I then used my  skills and knowledge and transferred into corporate information. Eventually education and training beckoned me back and in the last 10 years I have worked in and around the VET (Vocational Education and Training) sector. I now also work supporting teacher-librarians in the P-12 sector as Exec Officer of SLAV.

My own PLN and web 2.00 skills can both be described as patchy, So this will provide me with the opportunity to learn, consolidate and ultimately work smarter across the different roles I have.

2 responses to “PLN Information

  1. Hi Cindy,
    Welcome to the VicPLN! Good start to your blog, I believe you’ve hit on something in your post that more and more educators are dealing with – multiple roles. Working smarter is one of the things my PLN really delivers for me – often someone out there knows of a resource or can give an opinion which saves me hours of searching and sifting. Of course it’s a give and take thing. I hope you enjoy your 12 weeks exploring tools and making some great connections. Please feel free to read and join conversations going on on some of the other participants blogs. You can find links to them here:
    http://vicpln.global2.vic.edu.au/2012-participants/
    We look forward to reading more of your posts.
    All the best,
    Cathy
    (PLN team member)

    • Sharing information and knowing where to find information are key skills that teacher-librarians and librarians have always have. Blogs, twitter and other social media are mechanisms to doing that in an even more timely manner than before and allows us to juggle our multiple roles more seamleassly.

      I hope that the PLN will show me ways to streamline even more.

Leave a Reply

